MC's Whispers

Whispering Silences

Hello world!

7 August 2012

Kermit the Frog says “it’s not easy being green”. It’s not being any colour actually. And in this day and age with the economic crisis looming over practically every nation globally, it is actually not easy being anything. Finding work is extremely hard, and keeping it is just as difficult. People end up working ridiculously long hours for a wage that is just as ridiculous, and in the end when “you pay peanuts you get monkeys!” (Sorry K, I’m stealing that! 🙂 ). It is becoming increasingly difficult not to be depressed or despaired and it’s at times like this when we just have to find the smaller things that make us smile. You don’t have to be happy all the time. But you should be smiling. Even if, as my friend says, smiling is a reflex to mask what you are feeling. Either way, people would feel better looking at smiling faces rather than gloomy ones.

So, with a smile on my face, I’ve decided to start a blog. It’s something I’ve been considering for a long time given that writing is my passion. And given the fact that I don’t have much of an opportunity to be creative with it professionally, I will be whispering my thoughts to all of you, who would honour me by listening to them, and even by sharing your own.

My inspiration for the name came from a most unusual source: a horse. Competing in the London 2012 Olympics Equestrian Dressage, Whisper is the name of the beautiful horse belonging to Hiroshi Hoketsu of Japan, who is also the oldest athlete to ever compete in the Olympics, at 71 years of age. Not so much as a tribute to the man himself, but to the wonderful name for a horse, I’ve adopted it for my blog. Just for the sake of noting, Whisper ranked 40th in the Individual Dressage Grand Prix, but together with its rider made Olympic history.

There are many issues on our minds on a daily basis. However small or large they may be, significant or trivial, I believe it’s better to express them. Let your thoughts flow out, rather than keep them locked up and risk erupting like a volcano at some point. So it is here that I will be sharing my thoughts. And I do hope you will contribute too. Although I do agree that “it is better to stay silent unless what you have to say is better than silence”, I think that once you start talking, or typing for that matter, you will find there is a lot to say.

Do what you feel in your heart to be right- for you’ll be criticized anyway. You’ll be damned if you do, and damned if you don’t.

Eleanor Roosevelt

 

N.B. This also answers the “Million-Dollar Question” of the Daily Prompt: Why do you blog? 

Also part of Daily Prompt: Origin Story

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Pingback: Whispers Three | MC's Whispers

  2. Pingback: Twice upon a Whisper | MC's Whispers

  3. Pingback: Why blog? | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  4. Pingback: What if I like, you like, we all like to be liked? | Okay, what if ?

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Origin Story | flow of my soul

  6. Pingback: The beginnings of my blog | New Visions

  7. Pingback: I Blog So Therefore I Am Or Is It I Am So Therefore I Blog? | The Jittery Goat

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question | My Atheist Blog

  9. Pingback: Million Dollar Answer | paul scribbles

  10. Pingback: Are You Following Me Or Am I Being Paranoid? | Cheri Speak

  11. Loved your first blog and it was a surprise to find out about the 71 year old horse rider and his wonderfully named horse… Cheers to “Whispers” and good luck with your attempt Maria-Christina μου! Michael R. Virardi

    Like

Leave a Reply

