MC's Whispers

Whispering Silences

That tip-tap in the roof

listening3The other night I heard it again. A tip-tap in the roof. I had heard it before but it was about 1-2 months ago and although it did freak me out, I soon forgot about it. But now it seems its back. It sounds like something is tiptoeing in the roof. In the space between the tiles and the ceiling. I don’t know what it is. And I’m not sure if I want to find out either!

I do wonder what it is though. And it is at times like this when your imagination truly goes wild. Hey, as long as your dreams don’t get affected, turning into nightmares from which you wake up screaming in the middle of the night, covering up over the top with your bed sheets in the hope that nothing will actually come crashing through the ceiling on to you. Like those weird creatures from The Golden Compass, or something similar…

I wonder if it’s The Borrowers living up there…Ok maybe just one. But still, I haven’t noticed anything missing so I’m not sure…Perhaps they actually do borrow stuff and then bring it back before I even notice its absence? Could happen.

Maybe it’s a pigeon trapped. Shouldn’t we help it out? But would you really risk going up there and being surprised by what it is? I don’t think I have either the suitable clothes or the necessary psychological power to face that challenge…I still remember the scare I had when my beloved cat discovered something under the oven and we thought it was a dead mouse, until my mum swept out a raw meatball. How it got under there at that condition no one knows…

I still wonder what it is…Thing is, I’m sure my curiosity will be swiped away by everything else that I should do or actually should be doing for that matter. In fact, I think I should get back to work. As long as I don’t hear a patter on the roof, I think it’ll be fine. But, one last question: what could it be??

 

Also part of Daily Prompt: A Source of Anxiety

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “That tip-tap in the roof

  1. Pingback: Calling on Morpheus | MC's Whispers

  2. annita on said:

    do not bother about what it is just let it be……….kisses

    Like

  3. We live in the tropics and so noises in the roof are not unusual. It is usually a stray rat, when that happens. I hear their footsteps. But we have ways of dealing with them. And our two dogs are great hunters! I don’t know how your roof is constructed of course, but it could be that a bird has nested up there under the eaves. Is that possible?

    Like

Leave a Reply

