MC's Whispers

Whispering Silences

When I grow up I wanna be…

I-want-to-be-SGSA ballerina, a mermaid, a princess, an astronaut, a man in uniform, a person in power, Jacques Ives Cousteau, someone who will change the world.

Remember how when you’re a kid everyone asks you want you want to be when you grow up? I think I haven’t decided yet.

As children we all have these aspirations of becoming someone grand….well, actually superheroes, but few admit to it… We dream big. Of being important, famous, people with such an impact that with a flick of their finger can transform everyone’s life.  We aim to leave our mark on the world because we are taught that children are the future, and it better be good, or at least better than the present.

But when we do grow up, we find not everything is as peachy or rosy or half as colourful as we dreamt. Because real life is harder than our dreams. And not everyone can be a superhero (I for one have still not found one). We strive to make a living that will allow us to be decent, proud of ourselves and our accomplishments, and at the least able to be self-sufficient. The dream of changing the world, of solving poverty, hunger and disease gives way to scraping by in a routine that simply satisfies you. And sometimes you even forget to change yourself. Your own habits and mentality. To alter something in your lifestyle that will bring fulfillment to yourself more than to any other.

(Almost) everyone dreams of growing up and making a difference. Of inducing a change no matter how big or small it is. Of leaving their mark on something or someone. Of being remembered. But if all you aim to do is big, you will never succeed. You need to start off with the small, that will become medium-sized, and big and before you know it, you will have accomplished your objective. Change will not occur simply by stating it. It needs hard work, effort, faith and most of all persistence. After all change is what that unknown monk concluded around 1100AD: Now, as an old man, I realize the only thing I can change is myself, and suddenly I realize that if long ago I had changed myself, I could have made an impact on my family. My family and I could have made an impact on our town. Their impact could have changed the nation and I could indeed have changed the world.

“Everybody thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing themselves.”
― Leo Tolstoy

 
Also part of Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “When I grow up I wanna be…

  1. Pingback: Not there yet, but almost. | The Hempstead Man

  2. Pingback: My top five things I want to be when I grow up… | My Top Fives...

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt:”to sleep perchance to DREAM.” | Slam on the Brakes, Pull Over, Take the Picture

  4. Pingback: Daily Promt: When I Grow Up! | The Story of a Guy

Leave a Reply

