MC's Whispers

Whispering Silences

Calling on Morpheus

funny_insomniac_owl_sticker-Lately I can’t sleep. At all. And it’s not just because of the mouse running around in the roof, fighting a pigeon, and all the rumbling going on over my head because of it. No. I can’t sleep because I can’t seem to get all these thoughts out of my head. Another consequence of this maledetta crisis… And the more I try not to think, the more something else pops into my head and my insomnia simply nourishes itself and perpetuates this state of non-sleep. Even if I am extremely tired, when I go to bed I suddenly become wide awake. So much that sometimes I actually empathise with owls – if I hooted, I would very well know what it feels to be one – awake all night and falling asleep during the day. It’s not pleasant, I’ll tell you that. You end up eventually falling asleep when you actually don’t want to – when you’re watching your favourite TV series for instance, or during a sunny afternoon.

So how do you treat insomnia? Despite the inadvertently ironic response that “the best cure for insomnia is to get a lot of sleep” (W. C. Fields), I was told that the only way to treat insomnia is to relax. Easier said than done, you may say and I agree. Maybe even meditate – but that sometimes leads to more thinking so…not that helpful. Counting sheep doesn’t help either because I get confused along the way. Then imagining you’re climbing down a flight of stairs also has adverse results leading to the feeling that you’re falling off the bed and resulting in you jolting every few minutes. But I find that actually getting yourself tired during the day may also help you fall asleep at night. So exercise, yoga and a whole lotta running around, ought to do the trick!

So I tried that and it sort of helped. I slept for two hours. Then the super mouse went into a crazy chase and cannibalous scrambling and screeching with a bird in my roof and I was up. Again. My brother joked that some people would actually pay to see a fight like that going on. But I wasn’t seeing anything – and definitely wouldn’t want to either. There was just so much noise going on at hours during which even the night itself is asleep, or rather should be. It’s annoying. And everyone knows that the more irritated you get, the more your blood pressure rises due to an increasing heartbeat and the more awake you feel. Get my point?

Anyway, so here I am trying to fight insomnia away. During the process I have listened to about five playlists twice over, written a 4,000 word story, and a dozen of other short stories of varying themes and plots. Hey, at least I’m being productive.

I’ll try to go to sleep now. We’ll see how it goes. I’ve realized that getting yourself tired actually works. A bit. So I’m hoping Morpheus will visit soon (no, not the one from The Matrix, although that would be cool…). Anyway, if you have any work you would like to get done, give me a shout, I may still be up…

N.B. Written at 2am.

 

Also part of Daily Prompt: Mr. Sandman

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “Calling on Morpheus

  1. Pingback: An instant switch | MC's Whispers

  2. Pingback: MY DREAM KEPT ME | Hastywords

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mr. Sandman | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  4. Pingback: Hanging Sleepers | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mr. Sandman | My Atheist Blog

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mr. Sandman | A Mixed Bag

  7. Pingback: Daily prompt: Sleep | The Wandering Poet

  8. Pingback: Sleeper Awake! | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  9. Pingback: Obstructive Sleep Apnoea: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mr. Sandman « Blissful Pages

  11. Pingback: Sweat Dreams | B.Kaotic

  12. I’d recommend earplugs, I got really stressed at the start of the year and couldn’t get to sleep until about six, seven am. Last year was worse since I was in dorms and the lad in the room below mine liked to play Proud Mary at 3am. I used to like that song. Not anymore.

    Like

  13. Pingback: My sleep routine | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  14. Pingback: Sleepin’ on Submarines | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  15. Pingback: The Sandman wields a ripe Camembert: Daily Prompt… | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  16. Pingback: Exit Light, Enter Night | Knowledge Addiction

Leave a Reply

