MC's Whispers

Whispering Silences

A helping paw

CatsPawThere are moments in your life when you need a helping hand to get you back on track. To support you and transmit to you the feeling that everything will be all right, even if at that moment it doesn’t appear to be so. To reach out into your heart and make you feel loved, supported and – most importantly – not alone. And there are moments when that helping hand does not come from those around you, but from the most unexpected sources.

To me that helping hand for seventeen years, was my beloved pet cat. She was the one who could bring you up when you were feeling down. Who would come and crawl under the blanket beside you, clinging onto you with her paws simply so you would feel her presence, signifying that you were not alone. She was the one that could look into my eyes with her two big shiny eyes and reach right into my soul. Who could understand how I felt, and what I was thinking without me needing to utter a word. She was the one that stretched out a helping hand (or paw) when I was depressed.

People who have no pets cannot understand the magic and wonder of sharing your life with these wonderful creatures. They can sense your mood, thoughts and feelings, as if through a sixth sense, and know exactly what to do to change it. Be it rolling off the bed by accident; sleeping upside down or in other weird positions; or chasing flies of all sorts across the room, they are a constant pick-me-up. And above all, they are always there when you need them.

Just look into the loving eyes of these beautiful animals and you will understand why this is one helping hand that will never let you down.

Also part of the Daily Prompt: Helping Hand

Also part of Daily Prompt: A Friend in Need

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “A helping paw

  1. Pingback: Is Your Conscience Your Best Friend? | Joseph Rathjen - Freelance Writing Services and Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: A Friend in Need | 4 The Sensitive

  3. Pingback: My closest friend is… | 3rdculturechildren

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Helping Hand | On My Front Porch

  5. Pingback: A Communist Pig Gets A Helping Hand From Capitalist Bully | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Special Helping Hands | My Daily Prompt Blog

  7. Catherine Louise Gurganus on said:

    I have a cat of my own who is my constant companion. She has to be with me no matter what room I’m in. I love her dearly. When I’m feeling down, she always seems to know and will some sit or lie beside me to comfort me.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Helping Hand | writinglikeastoner

Leave a Reply

